Mother Tongue Day in Bulwer

"The KwaZulu-Natal Department of Arts and Culture together with the Harry Gwala District Municipality celebrate International Mother Tongue Day in Bulwer."

Mayor Ndobe on Gagasi FM

Harry Gwala Marathon 2017

Back to School 2017

Harry Gwala Marathon 2017

Harry Gwala Marathon 2017

I Do Right Campaign

Bidding farewell to Cllr. Khayalethu Thobela

Bidding farewell to Cllr. Khayalethu Thobela

Bidding farewell to Cllr. Khayalethu Thobela

2017 Matric Top-Achiever's Award Ceremony



Harry Gwala District Municipality

 Overview of the Harry Gwala District Municipality (Who we are?) 

The Harry Gwala District Municipality is located to the South West of the KwaZulu-Natal province. Its population is sparsely spread throughout an area of 11 127. 89997 square kilometers. The Harry Gwala District municipality forms part of the border between KwaZulu-Natal and Eastern Cape Province. The District Management Area (DMA) is located to the West of the District and it forms part of the border between the KwaZulu-Natal Province and Lesotho. The Harry Gwala District Municipality (DC43) is composed of the following five local municipalities: Ubuhlebezwe; Ingwe; Kwa-Sani; Greater Kokstad and Umzimkhulu.

 Local municipalities that make up Harry Gwala District Munipality


 Vision, goals, objectives and strategies 

By 2030 Harry Gwala District Municipality will be a leading water services provider in the KZN Province with its communities benefitting from a vibrant agriculture and tourism sector.

Mission Statement

Working together with its communities and stakeholders Harry Gwala District Municipality will ensure the provision of clean, drinkable uninterrupted water services and proper sanitation facilities and strive to improve its agriculture and tourism sectors to enhance human dignity.

Core Values

  1. Transparency
  2. Accountability
  3. Consultation
  4. Commitment and
  5. Honesty
Goals     Objectives
Target 10 of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) is to “have by 2015 the proportion of people without sustainable access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation”.    To improve the coverage, quality, efficiency, and sustainability of water and sanitation services in all urban and rural communities

- By implementing Bulk regional Water Supply Schemes.

- By implementing the localized based rural sanitation plan.



  1. Demographic Profile
  2. Wards

The total population of Harry Gwala District Municipality is 461 419. The District has 5 Local Municipalities, Ingwe, KwaSani, Greater Kokstad, UMzimkhulu and UBuhlebezwe.


Population Distribution per Local Municipality Municipality Population size


KwaSani Local Municipality   12 898
Ingwe Local Municipality   100 548
UBuhlebezwe Local Municipality   101 691
Umzimkhulu Local Municipality   180 302
Greater Kokstad Local Municipality   65 981
Harry Gwala District Municipality   461 419

Number of Wards and Traditional Authority



Number of Wards

KwaSani Local Municipality 4
Greater Kokstad Local Municipality 8
Ingwe Local Municipality 11
UBuhlebezwe Local Municipality 12
Umzimkhulu Local Municipality 20


May 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31

Latest Events

No events